Turn OFF In-App purchases in Your iPad

3 Jul

I’m not going to call it a scam because I’m sure it’s perfectly legal, just taking advantage of vulnerabilities perhaps?

Today we just paid $80 for a stupid mistake.

Yesterday, I downloaded a free game on our iPad- We Rule. That was mistake number 1.

In the game, you are the head of a kingdom, you build houses, collect tax, let peasants work on farms, etc.  It was pretty standard. There was a store in the game selling ‘Mojos’ by the cases.  We already have a few free games in our iPad and iTunes usually asks for our password before proceeding with any transaction.  Nicole, my daughter, is 4, and does not know how to spell yet. She doesn’t know our password. Thinking the game would prompt us for a password should Nicole tap on the items in the store, I handed the game to her and let her play.

When I woke up this morning, I turned on the iPad to check my email. I was horrified to see 2 separate billings from iTunes for the game We Rule– 1 bill of $29.99 for a case of Mojos and another 1 for $49.99 for 800 vintage Mojos.  You bet that made me jump out of bed! How the f*ck did this happen, I asked myself. I called my credit card company to block the transaction. The agent told me that they can’t block it anymore because the charges have already been made to my card. That’s when I started Googling and found this.

I’m too frustrated to go on and on about this so please read the forum.  And also this complaint.

Again, I’m not going to call it a scam. But it feels like it.  According to the game developer, the in-game store asks for a password before proceeding with the transaction. I’m almost certain the game didn’t ask for a password because like I said, Nicole does NOT know the password and CANNOT spell.

Here’s their explanation:

“Please note however that the iTunes system on the device will store your password for a short period of time when making multiple purchases. To prevent further accidental in app purchases you are able to disable IAP in the Settings -> Restrictions menu.”

So yes, it looks like there will be no reversing of charges that will happen here.

Just a costly mistake and a lesson learned.

To help other parents, read the following instructions on how to set restrictions on your iPad. Better yet, do not download We Rule and other free games that charge crazy amounts for “Mojos” and stuff and just use your money to purchase well-made apps for reasonable fees.

Turn on restrictions:
Choose General > Restrictions, then tap Enable Restrictions.
Enter a four-digit passcode.
Reenter the passcode.

Restrict purchases within applications: Turn In-App Purchases off. When enabled, this feature allows you to purchase additional content or features within applications downloaded from the App Store.

*photo of We Rule from ngmoco website

2 Responses to “Turn OFF In-App purchases in Your iPad”

  1. We Rule Cheat March 30, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Ouch, I should really turn off the in app purchases. I’ve spent a ton of money on the dreaded mojo!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Turn Off Your Credit Card in iTunes « Mommy and Money - July 3, 2010

    […] Jul Wow, 6 hours and counting and I still cannot completely get over the fact that I was charged $80 for We Rule mojos. […]

Leave a Reply

