Are You Missing Posts from People on Facebook?

26 Aug

Are you missing posts from friends and fan pages in Facebook because you didn’t see them  in your news feed?

Did you create a fan page for your business and have gotten feedback that your followers can’t see your updates in their feeds? The problem is not in your business page’s settings, it’s actually in your followers’.

When I created my personal Facebook account last year, I had set my news feed limit to 250.  That means that I could only see updates from 250 friends in my feed.  I now have more than 250 friends on Facebook and follow more than 2 dozen pages.  I had forgotten about my news feed limit and didn’t realize I was missing updates from people.

A quick change in the news feed settings solved the problem.  Now I can see all updates from friends and Facebook pages.

Here’s how to increase the news feed limit:

1. Go to the bottom of your news feed. You will see “edit options”. Click on it.

Edit Options (click to see larger version of photo)

2. When you click on it, you will see “Number of Friends”

Number of Friends Limit (click on photo)

3.  Enter a number into the box. Make sure you enter a high number so that you can see all the updates from your contacts.

“Control how many friends you want shown in live feed. A higher number means you will see new posts more frequently”.

I have changed my limit to 2000 just to be sure.

If your followers can’t see your page, ask them to increase their news feed limit.  I hope this helps.

9 Responses to “Are You Missing Posts from People on Facebook?”

  1. Catherine M Paull August 26, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Thanks for this suggestion – however there are two problems with it:

    I am not getting the posts from a Fan Page that I administer (and I had been getting them in the past).

    I have less than 100 friends and fan pages that I’ve “liked” or become a “fan” of

    When I click on the “Edit Options” at the bottom of my News Feed, I just get a list “Hidden from News Feed” – no option to change number of friends.

    This continues to be an issue.

    • Blog.4.Art February 15, 2011 at 11:11 am #

      Have you ever figured out the solution to this?

      • Coofer Cat February 24, 2011 at 9:31 am #

        Possibly related: Click the downward arrow to the right of “Most Recent” (next to Top News at the top of the page). Then click “Options”, and see what the “Show Posts From” option is set to. Facebook’s started to compress the feed into “most interesting” stuff (and so hiding the dull stuff you get from “friends” you never speak to), unless you ask to see everything. Apparently, unless you post on people’s comments/walls or email them occasionally on Facebook, you’re not *really* friends with them 😦

    • Karen Haag September 25, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

      Exactly the same for me. I do not have any options under Edit Options other than Hidden From News Feed. HELP!

  2. zlateway August 26, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    This is really stupid.Why Mark didn’t fix this, so now I must tell everyone to make this to see the posts. Btw, thank you, this works 🙂

  3. nek November 9, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    thnx a lot that worked and now I can see my posts!

  4. Coofer Cat November 9, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Facebook are the masters of non-functional design. Their application fails ‘gracefully’ when things go wrong – and most of the time you’ll never know.

    Like any others, Facebook’s computers suffer from occasional downtime, software updates, planned maintenance or whatever. All that means that occasionally, some parts of their system are unavailable. Facebook’s design means that individual parts of the pages you see come from different components; if one of those components is unavailable, you just don’t see that bit of the page until the system recovers.

    The amazing thing is that nearly all of the time, you’re completely unaware of this happening. I’ve seen it because someone has told me about something they’ve posted, but I haven’t seen it. The only way to prove it’s happening is because you *didn’t* see something.

    Whilst changing your settings may allow for more News Feed, it still won’t show you things when they aren’t available, and Facebook sure isn’t going to say “sorry, something should be here, but our system is down right now”, so you’re never really going to know for sure what you’re missing.

  5. Daniel April 1, 2011 at 2:17 am #

    Facebook business is advertising, so if busines pages (fan pages) are shwon in the news feeds of their fans they are gtting advertising for freee, so I guess thats why they dont show your status to your fans…this makes the fan pages worthless!!!

  6. xgipper August 13, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    I realise this thread is old, but I am experiencing this problem whereby my posts on a ‘fan’ page don’t show up on all fans’ walls – but it seems to on some.

    However on my FB account I have clicked the “edit options” at the bottom of my wall and this has no option to change “number of friends” as you describe above. Perhaps it’s changed, but it just lets you block certain friends’ posts or posts from certain pages/apps.

    So, wondering what else I can try, really!

    Thx

Leave a Reply

