Pagbabago: Making the Healthy Switch

31 Aug

I love baked goodies.  I love them so much that when I went “vegetarian” earlier this year, I was really nothing more than a breaditarian 🙂  I was eating more bread and pastries than veggies! My idea of personal heaven?  A bakery full of freshly baked stuff. I cannot think of a scent more beautiful than the smell of bread.

The things is, having all the baked goodies and sugary treats you want is fine, if you lead an active lifestyle.  Being a stay-at-home mom, the only physical activity I used to have was doing the laundry and I have a washing machine to help with that.

Last February, a  blood test revealed that my blood sugar was through the roof.  I also had high uric acid which resulted in joint pains.  Except for my knees, all the joints in my body hurt.  I was a 31-year-old mother suffering from high blood sugar and arthritis on top of having Pott’s disease.  I felt like an old car that needed a hundred repairs. I was in a very bad state physically.  Although I had struggled with excess weight all of my adult life, I always felt a quickie diet could fix things. I would switch from denial to acceptance and didn’t approach weight loss sensibly. I allowed the pounds to pile on.

Packing on the Pounds

Average Weight Gain Since Age 26: Five Pounds Per Year

In February, I’d had enough.  I finally got sick of being sick and fat. I decided- it doesn’t matter if it takes a long time, I WILL get healthy.

I started running.  I still run today although not as often as when I started.  I may have not lost a lot of weight but I feel so much better about my body. I no longer get easily tired and I feel so much stronger.  Walk/run 5K? Easy-peasy 🙂

Four Months Ago (left) and Today (right): My Jawline Has Reappeared 😉

I also switched to healthier alternatives of the sweet treats I love.  Like I said earlier- I love baked treats. I cannot imagine a life without breads and pastries.  So even if many people try to convince me to drop all carbohydrates from my diet, I simply cannot do it.  So I switched to low sugar and no sugar alternatives instead.  Thank you, Goldilocks for introducing sugar-free treats!

Merienda Time Has Become Goldilocks Go Lite Time

No Need to Drop All Sweet Treats From My Diet

I have lost 10 pounds in the last six months:  From 69.8 kilos I now weigh 65 kilos.  My weight loss probably sounds ridiculously low by other people’s weight loss standards but I’m happy with it since I only need to lose to 1 pound per month to counter the average of 5 pounds per year I gained in the last 5 years. Plus for the first time in my life, I am doing things right. Things are moving at a glacial pace but I am finally moving toward reaching normal weight without experiencing hunger pangs and frustrations.

Since implementing these changes in my lifestyle, I feel lighter and stronger; the joint pains went away almost instantly;  my blood sugar level is now normal; and as an added bonus my hair and skin look healthier. I gained all these benefits without depriving myself of the sweet stuff I love 🙂

6 Responses to “Pagbabago: Making the Healthy Switch”

  1. Lhen August 31, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    Congratulations! Na-inspire na naman ako mag-elliptical 🙂

  2. Rowena Wendy Lei August 31, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Whee! It’s the tumbler! 😀

  3. caroline August 31, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    congratulations razz.. great attitude, girl;)

  4. sweethopia September 1, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    @lhen go for the gold! wait, you mean you stopped using the elliptical? hahaha.

    @ro yup, that’s the tumbler I got from animetric 🙂

    @leng e idol kita e 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Pagbabago: Making the Healthy Switch « Mommy and Money -- Topsy.com - September 1, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Razielle Ambat, Razielle Ambat. Razielle Ambat said: @angels510 I already started making changes in my lifestyle. Little by little I'm working on being healthy 😉 http://tinyurl.com/28dpe5j […]

  2. The Goldilocks-Nuffnang Blogging Contest Year 2 « Mommy and Money - October 23, 2010

    […] only tragedy I must overcome in my life is my weight   My entry is here if any of you are […]

Leave a Reply

