New School: Mint College

27 Sep

I am not a very big planner. I think some things in life you can plan; some things you just leave open for whatever thing (or event) that presents itself to you.

I studied in UP, not exactly something I planned (was not sure I event wanted to go to college) but it all worked out great for me.  My parents gave me 2 options: PLM (Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila) or UP (University of the Philippines) because those were the only schools we could really afford that time. I took entrance exams in both schools and passed both exams. I ended up in UP to study Journalism. While I don’t work for any major publication, I still write for a living and get immense joy from it.  For me, it’s not really important what school you went to, what’s important is that you enjoy the things that you do, and are good at them.

Sometimes, it also happens that the things you enjoy doing at 16 are no longer the things you want to keep doing at age 40, 50, 60. Planning is good, but staying creative and flexible can be very good as well.

My college friend Teks Pabuayon tweeted about a new school: Mint College. The school’s website is here.

photo from Mint College website

I’m still browsing the site and may suggest it to Jay’s niece because she lives near that area.  I really think that when choosing a school, there are a number of factors one should consider and not just the name of the school.  Some of the major considerations would be the skills you want to learn and if these skills are being taught in the school you want to enroll in.  Other factors include: faculty, cost, and location. There’s also the school’s reputation, plus a whole bunch of other factors. In simple terms: make sure the school meets your needs.

Like I said, it’s always good to be open because you never know if a school you never even wanted will turn out to be the kind of school you’ll love.  Check out Mint/Meridian International College.  Many of the information you need, including application forms, are up on the website.

Address:

1030 Campus Ave, 2F CIP Building
McKinley Hill, Taguig City
Philippines 1634

9 Responses to “New School: Mint College”

  1. Hendrik Kiamzon June 25, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    Greetings! You recently did a writeup about us and I thought you’d be interested to post about our recent distribution of iPad2s to all our enrolled 1st year students. The pioneering class of 2015 at MINT College all received brand new iPad2s as part of the educational system at MINT where they will be able to view their student portal, receive lesson plans, submit assignments, view teacher presentations, blog reports and even take exams, all in this breakthrough device. And at no extra expense to the student!

    If you have any questions, or would like a personal tour of our facilities, please do no hesitate to contact me at 917.527.7706.

    Thanks and I hope to hear from you soon!

    Here’s a recent article about us:

    http://loqal.ph/science-and-education/2011/06/23/taguig-school-pioneers-ipad-use-for-students-teachers/

    Hendrik Kiamzon
    Chief Marketing Officer
    Mint College

  2. Hendrik Kiamzon May 30, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Hi!

    I just wanted to touch base with you to see how you’re doing. But I also wanted to mention that we are launching our new location in San Francisco! I’ve attached the release and also some poster art for the new location. We’re very excited about this and wanted to spread the word. Please check out the video for it here:

    Let me know if you’d ever want to check out our facilities in McKinley Hill, Fort Bonifacio for any of your needs. We’re always open to it.

    If you’re ever free to stop by the school, please let me know so we can catch up.

    Thanks!

    Best regards,
    Hendrik Kiamzon
    Meridian International Business, Arts and Technology College
    (MINT College)
    1030 Campus Avenue, 2/F CIP Bldg
    McKinley Hill, Fort Bonifacio
    Taguig City 1634

Leave a Reply

