Boo

13 Oct

Last August I won a pair of shoes from a blogging contest.  I will not say which blog, I will not say which shoe sponsor because I don’t want to badmouth anyone for  a pair of shoes.

I never got the shoes.  One month after the blog contest, I sent a private message on Facebook to one of the other winners to ask if she received her pair. She said NO.  Then two weeks after that Facebook exchange (1 1/2 months after the contest) I emailed the blog author to ask about the prize. She said the other winners received their pairs two weeks before (Yup, the same week I asked the other winner if she got hers).  When I told the blog owner I didn’t get mine and that the shoes might have been lost in transit, all she said was – “Yikes”. I didn’t know what to tell her after that. I was of course curious if I would be sent a new pair or if that was that. Because I did not receive any message from her anymore, I sent an email to the shoe sponsor to inform them that I never received my prize. The sponsor just asked for my mobile number so that they could contact me after they call their courier to ask what happened to the shoes.  No word from them since October 1. That’s it.

When I was told by the sponsor that they did send my prize through  JRS express two weeks before, I really thought, that’s it I won’t be getting my shoes anymore. I would be lying if I said I didn’t feel sad. Free shoes are free shoes you know. And it’s not like they were entirely free. I did spend time writing my blog entry for the contest and time IS money.

Although I am no longer expecting the pair of shoes to arrive, I was expecting they would get in touch with me to tell me- yes, the courier company has misplaced the shoes. And that they would tell me straight- we cannot replace the shoes anymore.

I know shit happens. I just feel bad that they seem to think it’s perfectly acceptable to keep people hanging.  Whatever.

I’m just going to get a pair of ballet flats, and I won’t be buying from that shoe sponsor 😛

2 Responses to “Boo”

  1. rj's mama October 14, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    that’s the reason why i don’t like joining blog contests. masasaktan lang ako 😀

    hoping you can visit and follow my blogs too 🙂

    online journal
    my soltero baby

  2. sweethopia October 17, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    It’s fun naman until the prize gets lost in the mail :))

    Thanks for droping by 😉

Leave a Reply

