Rosario The Movie

27 Dec

I met up with Jay’s cousins on Christmas day to do one thing: watch Rosario.

After getting back to the hotel after the movie, I tweeted: “Moral of the story: Do not sleep around. Seriously.”

Rosario is the story of Manny Pangilinan’s grandmother.

“The film tells the saga of Rosario, a young and liberated Filipina in the 1920s who has just arrived from New York, and is spending her vacation in their hacienda.

There, she meets and falls in love with Vicente, an older man who manages the tobacco plantation owned by Rosario’s family. When Rosario’s father finds out about his daughter’s scandalous affair, he sends Rosario to a convent.

She escapes, and elopes with Vicente to Manila where they raise a family. But Rosario’s life of married bliss slowly crumbles when Vicente becomes ill with tuberculosis, and she is lured to committing adultery. Temptation and scandal still hound Rosario as she continues to defy the moral restrictions of her time.” – rosariomovie.com

Alfonso & Carmen

Rosario, Alfonso & Carmen

While I have no business judging the moral choices people make for love (everyone knows- Jay and I, we have stumbled), I really pray that now that I have my own child, that I do not succumb to temptations ever again. Several months ago, a popular TV reporter tweeted- “there are more important things than the self”. Nothing could be truer when you already have children.  Above my personal needs are Nicole’s needs. I hope I never forget this. If in case my relationship with Jay crumbles, I hope I have enough sense to just let my vagina shrivel up and get shut, than to hook up with someone who will be bad for her.

In the movie, Rosario (played by Jennylyn Mercado) commits adultery with Alberto (played by Dennis Trillo). Maybe I would understand her choice if Vicente, her husband (played by Yul Servo), was a giant douchebag, but the man was a very good father who really worked hard for the family. The only reason they had to be separated physically was because he got frickin’ tuberculosis. Really, even if the true Alfonso were as hot as Dennis Trillo in the movie, there was no justifying the adultery.

Sleeping in Separate Rooms

I’ve seen how adultery can leave scars and pains long after the adulterers have died. Almost always, it is really the children who suffer. There’s one particularly heart-breaking scene in the movie that involves Rosario and her daughter of the same name. I will not spoil the movie for you so I’ll stop here.

While there are some parts of the movie that could have been done better to make it an awesome film, I still think it’s worth watching. I usually don’t nitpick the movies I watch so I’m fine with this one.  It’s not mind-blowing or anything, but good enough. The movie has superb casting though. And there are lessons to be learned from Rosario’s life.

p.s. Can I just ask- why is Isabel Oli so beautiful? 🙂

3 Responses to “Rosario The Movie”

  1. Karla March 7, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    yeah.. i watched the movie. i like your blog. thanks..:)

  2. Nixie Joy July 17, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    the movie was good ! all characters had been played perfectly ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

